What Time is Global History?

by Hugo Boothby on May 6, 2013

in Comdev News,Seminars

This is a seminar that is highly relevant to ComDev students and those working in the field of Communication for Development and we strongly recommend that you attend in Roskilde or follow the live webcast online if you can.

The seminar is on Wednesday May 8th, at Roskilde University in Denmark

Speakers for this 7th What Time is Global History seminar include Jan Nederveen Pieterse and Oscar Hemer.

Jan Nederveen Pieterse’s book Development Theory (2nd edition 2010) is a key text for the Communication for Development masters programme and this is an excellent opportunity to hear him speak.

Jan Nedverveen Pieterse’s lecture has the title ‘Histories of Globalization’ and he speaks at 13:15 – 13:45 CET (11:15 – 11:45 GMT).

Prof. Oscar Hemer, Communication for Development programme coordinator and co-director of the Örecomm Research group will speak on ‘Global Histories Through the Lens of Fiction’. Oscar speaks at14:15 – 14:45 CET (12:15 – 12:45 GMT).

The whole of this seminar will be broadcast in LIVE LECTURE for ComDev students or you can follow here on the ComDev Blog and orecomm.net

The seminar starts and 13:00 CET (11:00 GMT) and finishes 17:00 CET (15:00 GMT). For a full programme and concept note see here

The seminar takes place at Roskilde University, Denmark. Auditorium 45. See map

If you would like to attend in person please register here.

Previous post:

Next post: